The perfect little tartan dress…

I have been on the look out for the perfect little tartan dress (LTD) for a while now, and this A/W I have searched for one more than ever. Not only has tartan been big this season, featuring on the runways of Ashish and Paul Costelloe, but the McQ Alexander McQueen puffball tartan dress has been seen on celebrity after celebrity over the last few months. From Rihanna’s smash hit X Factor performance, to Katherine Jenkins, Chloe Moretz, Emma Watson and Cheryl Cole, the LTD isn’t leaving the spotlight anytime soon. Now, I cannot afford McQueen (one can dream), but finding a high street bargain and adding a personal spin to it is something I can do.

Rihanna on the X Factor, Katherine Jenkins and Chloe Moretz in the McQ Alexander McQueen puffball tartan dress.

Finally just as I was just beginning to give up hope, I tuned into my guilty pleasure The Only Way is Essex on Wednesday and spotted Lucy Mecklenburgh sporting a tartan high street alternative. I bought mine immediately direct from the brand Apricot for £25, but you can buy the same dress worn in the show from her online store LoveLucyx too. Boohoo also stock a similar dress for just £20, which is available in four different colours – coral, cream, pink and red.

Lucy Meck in her tartan dress.

Apricot’s RIRI tartan dress £25

Boohoo’s Monica tartan skater dress £20

I plan to wear my tartan dress with a chunky knit cardy, opaque tights and shoeboots or loafers for a casual look, and my leather jacket, black court heels and favourite red lipstick for an evening out.

Fx

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

