GET THE ‘BLACK SWAN’ LOOK

CLOSET CHARMS Rating: * * * *

Every little boy and girl dreams of writing their name in the stars, whether it is as a footballer, popstar, or actor/ actress. I dreamt of becoming a ballerina after my mum signed me up to dance lessons when I was extremely little, and I took ballet, tap and later character alongside ballet. I worked my way up the grades and passed many an exam, and loved every minute of it. I even bullied my younger brother into putting on dance shows with me for my family in our living room – who else would be the male lead?

That is until my high school homework took preference over my extra curricular activities, and I did a total one eighty and dedicated my career path to saving the animal planet instead as a vet (which as we know has also since changed to fashion media). I briefly took up ballet again at University as a member of the classical dance society, which was a welcomed escape from the four walls of my bedroom I was sentenced too during my dissertation days. However no one would have thought I had passed ballet exams with distinctions and honors in the past, with my good toes being replaced with two left feet – I stick to freestyle now.

So with my love of dance and in particular ballet, I couldn’t wait to hit the cinema last night to see new release Black Swan.

The Bafta and Oscar nominated film falls predominantly into the psychological thriller genre, and explores the dark side of the New York ballet scene. We follow the pure and innocent ballerina Nina Sayers who wins the part as the new Swan Queen in her company’s version of Swan Lake. Her white swan dance is perfect, but her black swan solo lacks the right technique and in finding it, is seduced by the persona of the black swan, which leads to tragic consequences.

Although I was rather shocked at some of the twists in this film, and no lies I did find it hard to understand what was going on at times, I can’t fault Natalie Portman’s performance, and it definitely deserves the coverage it is receiving in the press. I also loved the film’s clever use of metaphor, and the costumes (designed by the Mulleavy sisters of Rodarte) are exquisite. The film has so much to offer and whether you are a dancer, film buff or fashionista I guarantee you will find something to take from the film. Although just a quick pre-warning for anyone who is squeamish, there are a few unexpected jumps and rather gory scenes that may need some eye coverage. But I don’t want to give anything else away, so head down to your nearest cinemas and see what you think for yourselves.

To celebrate the release of the film here are some top high street picks to get some ballet inspired dressing into your wardrobes this season. Will you chose the path of the white or black swan?

WHITE

ASOS swan long pendent necklace, £8

River Island pink ¾ sleeve top, £14.99

River Island pink block stripe socks, £6.99

Miss Selfridge cream single pocket shirt, £32

Topshop grey spot floaty contrast waistband skirt, £35

Topshop vestry pink leg tie ballet pumps, £18

BLACK

Rimmel 60 second nail polish in Green with Envy, available at Superdrug, £3.69

Topshop lips in Hazard, £8

Topshop black feather and stone headband, £18

Topshop black cut out back shirt, £38

ASOS premium weave mesh leggings, £30

Miss Selfridge black ¾ sleeve lace bodysuit, £20

And to finish with here is the film trailer for Black Swan:

Fx

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

