New York New York…

I found a picture of Holly Fulton’s Spring/ Summer 10 collection in Company High-Street Edit, and it got me rather excited. The collection boasts a contrast between retro and futuristic city chic appeal, with sharp silhouettes, bold edges and vibrant colours, paying homage to art deco architecture.  New York New York springs to mind, especially that of The Empire State Building.

Company High-Street Edit puts it best with “Fulton, using a palette of monochrome with splashes of acid yellow, bright turquoise and tangerine orange, has created a collection so striking and bold it is impossible not to take note” Company High-Street Edit Spring/ Summer page 11.

Holly stays true to her roots by incorporating perspex, Swarovski crystals and leather, the materials she became known for last season when she won Young Designer Of The Year at the Scottish Fashion Awards, and the Swarovski Emerging Talent Award for accessories last year.

My favourite is this short white dress with The Empire State Building front design, the retro glasses, shoes and clutch also compliment the almost tribal but robotic look perfectly making it ideal for a trip to a bar, a club or a daytime summer party. I wish I wish…can I not grow up ten years please – I will hopefully have a decent job by the time I am 30 so I can afford such indulging statement pieces, no student budget. I waltz into a work lunch with the sun on my back (that’s if the weather improves by then), trying not to clumsily bump into the handsome man in the doorway, and order a cosmopolitan at the bar Sex and the City style, dressed top to toe in this amazing number…the dream.

These are my top six pieces from the collection…

For more information please visit http://www.hollyfulton.com/

Fx

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

